Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program Updated:06/2021

The Virginia Coastal Zone Management (CZM) Program was established in 1986 to protect and enhance Virginia’s coastal resources.   Virginia CZM is a network of state agencies and Tidewater local governments and the CZM laws and policies they implement. Through this network, the program manages sand dunes, wetlands, underwater lands, fisheries, point and nonpoint source air and water pollution, shoreline sanitation and a variety of other areas of particular concern such as ocean planning, marine debris, climate resilience, coastal wildlife habitats, public access, waterfront redevelopment and underwater historic sites.  

The Virginia CZM office administers an annual grant award of approximately $3 million from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Ocean Service, Office for Coastal Management to accomplish its goals. Since 1986, and as of the program's award in 2020, Virginia has received over $89 million dollars in federal CZMA funds, matched by over $73 million in state and local funds for a total of over $162 million dollars invested in Virginia’s coastal resources.

Contact Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of VirginiaLandCAN.
Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program is not employed by or affiliated with the Virginia Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program

1111 East Main St
Suite 1400
Richmond, VA  23219
Phone: (804) 698-4323

Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Accomack County, Virginia
  • Caroline County, Virginia
  • Essex County, Virginia
  • Fairfax County, Virginia
  • Gloucester County, Virginia
  • Hampton City County, Virginia
  • Isle of Wight County, Virginia
  • James City County, Virginia
  • Lancaster County, Virginia
  • Mathews County, Virginia
  • Middlesex County, Virginia
  • Newport News City County, Virginia
  • Norfolk City County, Virginia
  • Northampton County, Virginia
  • Northumberland County, Virginia
  • Poquoson City County, Virginia
  • Prince William County, Virginia
  • Richmond County, Virginia
  • Stafford County, Virginia
  • Suffolk City County, Virginia
  • Surry County, Virginia
  • Virginia Beach City County, Virginia
  • Westmoreland County, Virginia
  • York County, Virginia