National Bobwhite Conservation Initiative Updated:02/2015

The National Bobwhite Conservation Initiative (NBCI) is the unified strategic effort of 25 state fish and wildlife agencies and various conservation organizations -- all under the umbrella of the National Bobwhite Technical Committee -- to restore wild populations of bobwhite quail in this country to levels comparable to 1980.

The first such effort, in 2002, was a paper-based plan by the Southeastern Quail Study Group under the umbrella of Southeastern Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies. That plan, termed the Northern Bobwhite Conservation Initiative, attracted considerable attention around the country, including that of the other states in the bobwhite quail range. The result was a broad expansion of the effort and a revision of the plan (and the Southeastern Quail Study Group itself, now the National Bobwhite Technical Committee) to include 25 states in the bobwhite’s range.

Today, NBCI is a multi-faceted initiative characterized by three key elements:

  1. an easily updated, online strategic plan to be released publically in March 2011
  2. a massive and easily updated online Geographic Information  System (GIS)-based  conservation tool to help state biologists and other conservation planners identify and achieve individual state objectives within the overall national strategy, also scheduled for full release in March 2011. (Over 600 biologists within the bobwhite’s range participated in building this conservation tool.)
  3. a small team of specialists dedicated to range-wide, policy level efforts to bolster respective state step-down strategies

Contact National Bobwhite Conservation Initiative


Contact National Bobwhite Conservation Initiative

John Doty
Communications Director
274 Ellington Plant Sciences Building
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN  37996
Phone: 865-974-7281
Cell Phone: 865-712-2895

Service Area

Statewide service provider in:
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin